ACCESS Founding Societies and Steering Committee Members

Learn more about the members of ACCESS

American Society For Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (ASBMB)

The ASBMB's mission is to advance the science of biochemistry and molecular biology and to promote the understanding of the molecular nature of life processes through: the publication of scientific and educational journals; organization of scientific meetings; advocacy for funding of basic research and education; support of science education at all levels; and promoting the diversity of individuals entering the scientific workforce

Deborah L. Neely-Fisher

Reynolds Community College

Professor at Reynolds Community College
Richmond, VA

Sonia Flores, PH.D.

University of Colorado

Vice Chair for Diversity and Justice
Denver, CO

Stephanie Paxson


Diversity and Undergraduate Education Coordinator

American Society For Cell Biology (ASCB)

The ASCB is an inclusive, international community of biologists studying the cell, the fundamental unit of life. We are dedicated to advancing scientific discovery, advocating sound research policies, improving education, promoting professional development, and increasing diversity in the scientific workforce.

Ashanti Edwards


Director of Professional Development

Leticia Vega, PH.D.

Barry University

Professor at Barry University
Miami Shores, FL

Veronica A. Segarra, PH.D.

High Point University

Co-Principal Investigator for ACCESS
Assistant Professor of Biology at High Point University
High Point, NC

  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn

American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics (ASPET)

The ASPET is a scientific society whose members conduct basic and clinical pharmacological research and work for academia, government, large pharmaceutical companies, small biotech companies, and non-profit organizations.

Catherine Fry, PH.D.


Director of Education

Susan Ingram, PH.D.

Oregon Health and Science University

Professor at Oregon Health and Science University

Biophysical Society (BPS)

The BPS is an international scientific society whose purpose is to encourage the development and dissemination of knowledge in biophysics.

Elizabeth Vuong


Director of Marketing, Communications & Outreach

Laura Phelan


Communications and Content Manager

Marina Ramirez-Alvarado, PH.D.

Mayo Clinic

Principal Investigator for ACCESS and
Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

Endocrine Society (ES)

The ES is devoted to advancing hormone research, excellence in the clinical practice of endocrinology, broadening understanding of the critical role hormones play in health, and advocating on behalf of the global endocrinology community.

Kirsta Suggs


Associate Director of Professional Development

Michael Burton, PH.D.

University of Texas at Dallas

Assistant Professor at The University of Texas at Dallas

Scientific Careers Research and Development Group (SCRDG)

The SCRDG members bring a wealth of prior experiences, including many years of laboratory-based research and training of young scientists, extensive program evaluation experiences with STEM programs, expertise with theory and practice through programs promoting diversity and success of underrepresented groups and women.

Rick McGee, PH.D.

Northwestern University
Feinberg School of Medicine

Associate Dean for Faculty Recruitment
and Professional Development
Associate Professor of Medical Education

Stephanie Valtierra, PH.D.

Northwestern University
Feinberg School of Medicine

Assistant Director of Collaborative Learning
and Integrated Mentoring in the Biosciences